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FREE OR REDUCED PRICE HEALTHCARE
THROUGH CHARITY CARE PROGRAMS

If you cannot afford to pay your hospital medical bills, you may be eligible to have part or all of 
the bill forgiven as Charity Care under California’s Hospital Fair Pricing Policies law.1 

What is Charity Care?
Charity Care exists to help families avoid financial catastrophe and is in place to assist qualifying 
Californians who cannot afford to pay the bills associated with their hospital care. Hospitals 
have different names for Charity Care, such as, “discount policy,” “financial assistance policy,” 
“medical financial assistance program(s),” “sliding scale policy,” or “bridge assistance policy.” 

Who is eligible for Charity Care? 
•	 Uninsured patients: California law now requires hospitals to provide free or discounted care 

to uninsured patients who earn up to 400% of the federal poverty level. You may qualify if 
you earn $4,530 per month for one person or up to $9,250 per month for a family of four in 
2022.

•	 Insured patients: People with health insurance may qualify for discounts. You may quaify 
if you: (1) earn up to 400%  of the federal poverty level ($4,530 per month for one person 
or up to $9,250 per month for a family of four in 2022), and (2) have faced out-of-pocket 
medical expenses in the preceding 12 months that exceed 10% of your income.

•	 Patients regardless of Immigration status: A patient’s immigration status does not impact 
eligibility for Charity Care. A hospital may request proof of your financial situation—such as 
pay stubs, Social Security benefits, or documentation from a local social services agency—
but only to assess financial eligibility.

How do I apply for Charity Care? 
To check a hospital’s Charity Care policy and application instructions, visit your hospital’s 
website or consult the California Department of Health Care Access and Information (HCAI) 
website at https://syfphr.hcai.ca.gov/FacilityList.aspx, which includes published policies 
and applications, available by county, in a searchable format. If you do not have access to a 
hospital’s website, call the hospital’s main switchboard and ask for the billing office to request a 
copy of the hospital’s Charity Care policy and application. 

What are my rights under a Hospital’s Charity Care policy? 
•	 You have the right to request payment assistance through a hospital’s Charity Care policy 

even if you have health insurance.
1	  Health & Saf. Code, §§ 127400 – 127446. 
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•	 You have the right to request payment assistance through a hospital’s Charity Care 
policy even if you are undocumented. The hospital may, however, request documents 
to demonstrate your income eligibility such as pay stubs, bank statements, tax returns, 
and/or reasonable documentation of assets.

•	 You have the right to receive a hospital’s Charity Care policy and application in writing 
in your native language. California law also requires healthcare organizations to provide 
patients with meaningful access to language services, including interpreters. 

•	 You have the right to receive a written estimate of the amount the hospital will require 
a person without health coverage to pay for the healthcare services, procedures, and 
supplies that are reasonably expected to be provided.

•	 You have the right to negotiate an extended payment plan to pay for your treatment if 
you qualify for Charity Care.

•	 You have the right to receive a plain summary of your rights under the Charity Care 
program with your hospital bill.

What if my hospital bills are already past due?
Charity care policies apply even if your payment is late. If your bill is already past due or sent 
to a collection agency, reach out to the hospital’s billing service provider and request a Charity 
Care application. If you qualify for Charity Care for some or all of a past due bill, you have the 
right to receive a refund if you were overcharged or negotiate a payment plan that is not more 
than 10% of your family income a month.

What if my Charity Care application is denied?  
If you are denied Charity Care, you may ask the hospital to reconsider the denial. Contact the 
Hospital’s billing office and request an appeal as designated in the policy. 

Where can I report hospitals violating California’s Charity Care laws?
Report violations of California’s Hospital Fair Pricing Policies law to the California Department 
of Public Health (CDPH), Licensing and Certification Division through the Complaint against 
a Health Care Facility/Provider web portal, online directly to the Licensing and Certification 
Division, available at the link here.

*** 

This consumer alert was issued by the Healthcare Rights and Access (HRA) Section of 
the California Department of Justice. HRA works proactively to increase and protect the 
affordability, accessibility, and quality of healthcare in California. HRA’s attorneys monitor and 
contribute to various areas of the Attorney General’s healthcare work, including consumer 
rights; anticompetitive consolidation in the healthcare market; anticompetitive drug pricing; 
nonprofit healthcare transactions; privacy issues; civil rights, such as reproductive rights and 
LGBTQ healthcare-related rights; and public health work on tobacco, e-cigarettes, and other 
products.

https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHCQ/LCP/CalHealthFind/Pages/Complaint.aspx

